Dynamixel Support (bioloid libraries) on Teensy processors...

KurtE

Senior Member+
Elmue's thread on Rs485 half duplex, stating that he did not find any support for the Dynamixel servos running on a Teensy, made me think maybe I should should document some of the stuff I have been using since early 2014.

On the Trossen forums, I have a thread talking about converting their PhantomX hexapod using a Teensy 3.1. Actually have similar thread here as well.

My goal was to be able to use the same code base on the Teensy as I did on the Arbotix board and while I was at it also allow me to try other boards, like Arduino Mega... So I modified their bioloid libraries. In particular I mainly changed the Constructor/initializer to not just assume their logical Serial1 object, but instead allow me to pass in a pointer to the Serial object. So for a long time I have been using a copy of their BioloidController library, which I called BioloidSerial.

While the Official arbotix support is still at Arduino 1.0.4, I have versions of this project that I have migrated the code and hardware definitions to the latest Arduino 1.6.x, which Trossen is in the process of testing and hopefully adopting soon.

In this, most of the BioloidSerial support has been integrated into the Arbotix project.

There are several projects up on my github: www.github.com/kurte that use these libraries, including grab bag test program (AX12_TEST). The Phantom_Phoenix project, a project that semi emulates the Arobotix Pro / CM730 servo controller boards (Teensy_Arbotix_Pro).

Note my library is setup to either use the Teensy 3.1 serial port's half duplex mode (only the TX pin needs to be connected) or a more recent addition, I allow you to use a buffer chip with direction pin, that can be used to properly convert the 3.3v output of Teensy to 5Vs.