Piezo Velocity for MIDI Drums - Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

loui425

Hi people, ive been working on my MIDI controller, which currently is reading a total of 6 analogue inputs, 4 piezos and 2 potentiometers. ive got the following code below but have absolutely no idea how would go about making the piezos velocity sensitive. I am very new to coding so dont really know where to start, has anyone ever done anything like this before with success or would know anything to help? thanks.

Code:
#include <Bounce.h>

// define how many pots are active up to number of available analog inputs
#define analogInputs 2

// make arrays for input values and lagged input values
int inputAnalog[analogInputs];

int iAlag[analogInputs];

// make array of cc values
int ccValue[analogInputs];

// index variable for loop
int i;

void setup() {
  // MIDI rate
  Serial.begin(31250);
  pinMode(0, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(1, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(2, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(3, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(4, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(5, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(6, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(7, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(8, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(9, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(10, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(11, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void loop() {

// loop trough active inputs for knobs
  for (i=0;i<analogInputs;i++){

// read current value at i-th input
    inputAnalog[i] = analogRead(i);

// if magnitude of difference is 8 or more...
    if (abs(inputAnalog[i] - iAlag[i]) > 7){

// calc the CC value based on the raw value
      ccValue[i] = inputAnalog[i]/8;

// send the MIDI
      usbMIDI.sendControlChange(i, ccValue[i], 3);

// set raw reading to lagged array for next comparison
      iAlag[i] = inputAnalog[i];
    }
  delay(5); // limits MIDI messages to reasonable number

}

}

I've done something like this using FSRs for velocity ...I remember though on the forum someone doing quite a sophisticated setup using piezos. I'll look it up for you.... ;)