Convert Teensy DAC Single Ended Output to Differential Output

Status
Not open for further replies.

spumoni

Hi All,

I am a complete noob here with analog circuits and I am trying to get the Teensy 3.2 to control a laser galvonometer.

I need an op amp circuit to convert the DAC single ended output from Teensy (0-3.3v) to a differential output (+5v to -5v). I have searched the web and found chips by Linear and Analog Devices that do this but they are MSOP8 packages (looking for DIP).

I am thinking that I would feed the DAC output to an Op Amp configure as a buffer amp for the positive side of the differential output (0 - +5v) and the also feed it into the (-) terminal of an differential Op Amp (0 - -5v) configured and the (+) input connected to 3.3v? On differential amp I would used the feedback resistors to adjust the gain.

I would welcome any suggestions on what op amp would be a good candidate for this application. I need between 20-30khz driver frequency.

Thanks in Advance!

The easiest way would probably be a dual-supply differential amplifier comparing the DAC output to a reference of 1.66V?

If I use differential amplifier comparing the DAC output to a reference of 1.66V, will the output range on the positive side will be 0 to +1.66v and the negative to negative side will be 0 to -1.66v?

Then to get the +5v range I need, I should add on two non-inverting op amp stages with the appropriate gain resistors? For the voltage reference, can I just make a voltage divider with 2 10k resistors, connected to 3.3v and grd?

Do you think a generic 741 op would be ok?

Also do you know of any tiny (fit on circuit board) dual +-10v supply that I can use to power the op amps?

Thanks for the help.

If I use differential amplifier comparing the DAC output to a reference of 1.66V, will the output range on the positive side will be 0 to +1.66v and the negative to negative side will be 0 to -1.66v?

It will be if you use 4 equal resistors.