Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 76 to 87 of 87

Thread: Teensyduino 1.31 Beta #1 Available

  1. #76
    Senior Member+ MichaelMeissner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ayer Massachussetts
    Posts
    2,575

    Cool

    The Teensydunio installer is an executable ELF image. After you download it, from a shell prompt, change the permissions to include execution and execute it (the $ is the standard bash prompt if you haven't set the PS1 environment variable):

    Code:
    $ chmod +x <file>
    $ ./<file>

  2. #77
    Quote Originally Posted by defragster View Post
    I got some idea you had redone TD - that's why I added reinstall IDE. I only ever unzip the IDE to a fresh directory anymore - When I started Feb 2015 the IDE jumps with early 1.6x gave me fits otherwise. I picked up 1.6.12 after giving it a couple days ( having skipped 1.6.11 ) - and it is working well for me.

    The other thing I didn't write was making sure NOTHING is active IDE or Teensy.exe - maybe a restart of the computer before installs. Orphaned things usually abort the install - but you may have an odd case. And nothing changed while the IDE is active will be seen by the IDE until it restarts..

    I've not seen your issue in my 1.5 years with the IDE going 1.6.0 to 1.6.12 and all the Teensyduino updates that went with them - including getting the K66 and K64 beta boards back to June.

    The only thing I've seen documented hitting others oddly was ANTIVIRUS - not sure how that would hit boards.txt alone though.
    Yea, I remember the constant streams of posts about issues with early 1.6.x installations... I waited those out until things seemed to calm down and jumped from 1.0.6->1.6.5 and had no noticed issues (other than needing to update libraries), until now. And yes, I was doing the Teensyduino update without anything Arduino or Teensy running (double-checked processes even), did some reboots in there, forcing run as admin, etc etc. I never saw anything other than a success message, but nothing got it to work on the existing install. Ultimately, like you said, something must have needed cleaning up and a clean install of the IDE did that. It's not like it is even that much work, uninstall Arduino which takes Teensyduino with it, and for added measure I deleted everything but preferences.txt from the user/roaming/arduino15 folder. Install Arduino, install Teensyduino, and back in business.

    I did try copying over the boards.txt file and I also did the same with the platform.txt as a document compare revealed some changes in paths (I did not check the core files). That of course got the newer Teensy options to appear in Arduino but I was unable to compile for a 3.6 board. I was going to rebuild this install anyway given that if 2 files didn't copy right, who knows what else didn't, but it was a curiosity check more than anything that perhaps could have given Paul a datapoint. The same uninstall/reinstall procedure worked fine. So obviously something is odd with my setup as it persisted across 3 computers, but I don't have anything set up strangely that I know of. I'll chalk this one up to Windows 10 being stupid, the fix was easy enough, so back to playing (and trying out the serialPlotter, which has been on the todo list)!

  3. #78
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelMeissner View Post
    The Teensydunio installer is an executable ELF image. After you download it, from a shell prompt, change the permissions to include execution and execute it (the $ is the standard bash prompt if you haven't set the PS1 environment variable):

    Code:
    $ chmod +x <file>
    $ ./<file>
    Thanks! That did it..
    Last edited by alexandros; 10-12-2016 at 03:02 PM.

  4. #79
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3,249
    Quote Originally Posted by alexandros View Post
    This might be a bit obvious, but on my Debian Jessie machine, I'm asked which application do I want to open the TeensyduinoInstaller with... So, what should I choose? Double clicking on the icon won't do..
    After downloading the app, you need to mark it as an executable.
    I typically do this in a command line prompt using the chmod command (chmod +x Teensyduino...)

    I believe you can probably also do it in the GUI using properties.

  5. #80
    Hi,

    Just chiming in to say this works fine for me on macOS Sierra, Arduino 1.6.1. Thanks as always!

    Oh- yes- Teensy 3.2

  6. #81
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2
    just received 3.5 & 3.6 (yay) - installed the 1.31 beta on arduino 1.6.11, did some quick tests on existing project code and discovered the Snooze library has errors, so mentioning it here incase its not known.

    the builtin examples will trigger it, eg: pushbutton_pullup_sleep.ino.

    the tailend of the error message is

    Code:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\Snooze/utility/llwu.h:170:50: error: 'LLWU_F3' was not declared in this scope
    
             uint32_t flag = ( LLWU_F1 | LLWU_F2<<8 | LLWU_F3<<16 );
    
                                                      ^
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\Snooze/utility/llwu.h: In function 'void llwu_reset_enable()':
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\Snooze/utility/llwu.h:260:9: error: 'LLWU_RST' was not declared in this scope
    
             LLWU_RST = 0x02;//LLWU_RST_LLRSTE_MASK;

  7. #82
    Senior Member manitou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,269
    Quote Originally Posted by rjp View Post
    just received 3.5 & 3.6 (yay) - installed the 1.31 beta on arduino 1.6.11, did some quick tests on existing project code and discovered the Snooze library has errors, so mentioning it here incase its not known.
    For T3.5/3.6 you need to use this version of Snooze
    https://github.com/duff2013/Snooze_V6_Beta
    and make sure the IDE is using that version of the library

  8. #83
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by manitou View Post
    For T3.5/3.6 you need to use this version of Snooze
    https://github.com/duff2013/Snooze_V6_Beta
    and make sure the IDE is using that version of the library

    brilliant, thank you very much - installing now.

  9. #84
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    13
    I am having an issue with the standard PassThroughStereo sketch using my new Teensy 3.6, Arduino 1.6.12 and Teensyduino 1.31-beta1 (and Audio Shield). No audio is passed through either to the headphones or Line-out.
    On the other hand a sketch I wrote a while back that passes through the same audio via the record and output queue functions in the Audio library works fine, so the hardware path seems good.
    The standard PassThroughUSB sketch also works.

    Connected to the original Teensy 3.2/Audioshield and recompiled for the 3.2, the standard PassThroughStereo sketch works fine.

    Anybody else seeing this?

    System is Mac OSX 10.11.6

  10. #85
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    855
    I reported about having a problem with the microphone in the K66 beta thread quite a while back and then forgot about it. The first message was #936 on page 38 - last message was #957 on the next page.
    I'll try to check it out again in the next day or so.
    Pete

  11. #86
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Pete. It's not that the Line-in doesn't work at all, it just seems to be not connecting through to outputs when the connection is only made through the patchcord system as a continuous stream, without involving the sktech itself in the transfer. It feeds a queue object in a sketch just fine.
    Thanks again.

  12. #87
    There is an error message when compiling the example eeprom_put for Teensy 3.2, compiled using Arduino 1.6.12 and Teensyduino 1.31 Beta #1 on Windos 7 x64:

    HTML Code:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\EEPROM/EEPROM.h: In instantiation of 'const T& EEPROMClass::put(int, const T&) [with T = float]':
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\EEPROM\examples\eeprom_put\eeprom_put.ino:37:28:   required from here
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\EEPROM/EEPROM.h:144:15: warning: variable 'e' set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
    
             EEPtr e = idx;
    
                   ^
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\EEPROM/EEPROM.h: In instantiation of 'const T& EEPROMClass::put(int, const T&) [with T = MyObject]':
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\EEPROM\examples\eeprom_put\eeprom_put.ino:52:36:   required from here
    
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\EEPROM/EEPROM.h:144:15: warning: variable 'e' set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
    Last edited by Paraglider; 10-19-2016 at 02:49 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •