Teensyduino for basic MIDI MAPPING in Ableton

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I'm extremely new to all this.
Wanting to build a simple controller that creates ON/OFF style presses in Ableton. (for the time being)
For instance, hit a button and it turns on an effect via MIDI Mapping. Hit another button and it starts a sample, etc...
ALL of these demands can be mapped within Ableton, but it isn't quite working how I had hoped....

I'm using a Teensy 3.2 + teensyduino + the below sketch.

Thus far the code is working for a few mapping demands ( hitting the record and play button in a looper etc...)
but when i try to use it to turn on an effect it will only stay on WHILE the button is pressed and turns off when the button is un-pressed.

I'm not sure if all of that makes sense to you all. Thanks for any suggestions on how to modify the sketch. I just grabbed a sketch that seemed to make sense for the job from Instructables or something.
Thanks again for any help/and/or suggestions towards understanding the issue.

#include <Bounce.h>

//The number of push buttons
const int NUM_OF_BUTTONS = 8;

// the MIDI channel number to send messages
const int MIDI_CHAN = 1;

// Create Bounce objects for each button and switch. The Bounce object
// automatically deals with contact chatter or "bounce", and
// it makes detecting changes very simple.
// 5 = 5 ms debounce time which is appropriate for good quality mechanical push buttons.
// If a button is too "sensitive" to rapid touch, you can increase this time.

//button debounce time
const int DEBOUNCE_TIME = 5;

Bounce buttons[NUM_OF_BUTTONS + 1] =
{
Bounce (0, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (1, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (2, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (3, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (4, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (5, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (6, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (7, DEBOUNCE_TIME),
Bounce (8, DEBOUNCE_TIME)
};

const int MIDI_MODE_NOTES = 0;
const int MIDI_MODE_CCS = 1;