Possible to program 3.2 from can?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigboosted

I'm pretty new to arduino. I just discovered teensy a few days ago due to my latest tft project running to slow on nano. Also ran out of memory.

My first question is can my program include code that when a preset can message comes in it will enable the halfkay?
(I want to enbed a teensy and while I can leave a button avaliable it won't be easy to get to)

I read that something like this can be done. As long as the program doesn't crash.

My second question is there a way to upload a program to teensy via the can bus?

Thanks for the help. Sorry if this has been asked before but my search did not find much. I'll keep looking , but any direction would be much appreciated!

I've played with the arduino/nano and can sheild so I'm pretty fimiliar with how that works. I just ordered a teensy 3.2 and am looking forward to playing with the canflex.

Yeah, you can, actually... Just wire an i/o pin to the program pin, and toggle it low.
That will throw it in to programming mode as if you pressed the button :)

teensy can only be programmed via USB-HID
It can be placed into to-be-programed mode by

a) pressing button, or equivalently by connecting program pin to ground (e.g method suggested by xxajk)
b) by setting the USB-serial communication to a specific very low speed
c) by sending a specific USB-HID message
d) and from within program (as Frank indicates)

option a) works always (excluding very rare events that teensy got bricked, or intentionally locked by programmer)
options b) and c) work only if Teensy has running USB enabled, which implies that Teensy is not crashed. These options are typically use by different loaders.

You could write your own and run it from RAM.... This is something I've been sort of wanting to do myself.... program over serial an stuff like that.