Can't get SPI to work on Teensy 3.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mbanzi

Can't get SPI to work on Teensy 3.2 [SOLVED]

I'm unable to get SPI to work reading 4 daisy chained CD4021 shift registers to read 32 switches that are pulled high. I'm an experienced Arduino developer, and the sample code shown below works fine testing on an Arduino Nano. I have tried running the shift registers on 5V, 3.3V & through a Sparkfun bi-directional logic level converter. The result is always the same: all bits are 1 in the 4 bytes I read. I have read somewhere that the CD4021s are troublesome with 3.3V, so I plan to try 74HC165s instead.

NOTE: Solution in post #8

Code:
#include <SPI.h>

#define SS 10

byte bank1, bank2, bank3, bank4;

void setup() {
  SPI.begin();
  Serial.begin(57600);
  pinMode(SS, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {

digitalWrite(SS, HIGH); // Set latch pin to 1 to collect parallel data
  delayMicroseconds(200);
  digitalWrite(SS, LOW); // Set latch pin to 0 to transmit data serially
  delayMicroseconds(200);

// read CD4021 IC
  bank1 = SPI.transfer(0x00);
  bank2 = SPI.transfer(0x00);
  bank3 = SPI.transfer(0x00);
  bank4 = SPI.transfer(0x00);

Serial.print("1:");
  Serial.println(bank1, BIN); // Always 1:11111111
  Serial.print("2:");
  Serial.println(bank2, BIN);
  Serial.print("3:");
  Serial.println(bank3, BIN);
  Serial.print("4:");
  Serial.println(bank4, BIN);
  Serial.println("-------------------");

delay(500); // Slow down serial monitor output
}

Connections:
CD4021 pin 9 (Parallel/Serial Control) [On all chips] -> Teensy pin 10
CD4021 pin 3 (Q8) [On first chips] -> Teensy pin 12
CD4021 pin 10 (Clock) [On all chips] -> Teensy pin 13
First CD4021 pin 11 (Serial In) to next daisy-chained CD4021 pin 3 (Q8)
Last CD4021 pin 11 (Serial In) to GND

As I mentioned, the shift register circuit is in use on several Arduinos, so it works fine.

Interestingly enough if I use:

Code:
shiftIn(DATAPIN, CLOCKPIN);