Teensy 3.0 ADC details

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey everyone,

I'm new to this microcontroller programming stuff, so bear with me.

I just need to double check that I have the details about the ADC correct here:

The Teensy 3.0 has the MK20DX128 microprocessor, and so the datasheet here has the details.

Check page 37. So does this mean the Teensy 3.0 has a 16-bit ADC capable of 37-460 kSPS ? So can I expect the Teensy 3.0 to give me 16-bit ADC samples at something like 30 thousand per second? Or is this stuff only theoretical? Am I missing something here?

If someone can help with this (or if someone tried this before), it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance! May the Teensy be with you! :cool:

Oh, and where can I find the Teensyduino pinouts for the Teensy 3.0? It's not on the official website :confused:

I had a hard time finding them before, but they are now on the official page.

Teensy pinouts: http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/pinout.html

Thanks for posting that datasheet link, previously I was only aware of the 1227 page Freescale "K20 Sub-Family Reference Manual" K20P64M50SF0RM.pdf which lacks many specific parameters about the particular Teensy 3 chip.

Looks like you are correct about the hardware capabilities. AFAIK, for now you'd have to write your own code to realize that performance, because that speed requires (1) hardware averaging turned off and (2) continuous conversion mode. The Teensy 3 conversion rate as currently implemented is much slower.

From my post here http://dangerousprototypes.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4606 you can see that I observed about 2200 samples per second using analogRead()

Last edited:
I can't believe I missed that pinouts link XD

Great post! Certainly helpful!

I realistically only need about 2k samples per second, so I'm probably not going to write my own code :D

If this thing pulls off 2k SPS with 16-bit resolution, then HELL YEAH I'm buying one! :D