Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Teensyduino 1.34 Beta #2

  1. #1
    Administrator Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    247

    Teensyduino 1.34 Beta #2

    Here is a second beta test for Teensyduino 1.34.

    Linux 32 bit:
    http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_134-be...nstall.linux32

    Linux 64 bit:
    http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_134-be...nstall.linux64

    Linux ARM:
    http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_134-be...stall.linuxarm

    Mac OS-X:
    http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_134-be...inoInstall.dmg

    Windows:
    http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_134-be...inoInstall.exe


    Changes since Teensyduino 1.34-beta1:

    • Support for Arduino 1.8.0
    • Revert ARM Toolchain back to gcc 4.8


    Changes since Teensyduino 1.33:

    • Update ARM Toolchain to gcc 5.4 (was gcc 4.8)
    • Add Tools > Optimize menu
    • Fix driver install/update on Windows 7 & 8
    • Prevent "might not have installed correctly" message on Windows

  2. #2
    Senior Member KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,552
    Installed on 1.8.0 Windows 64 bit and so far they work. Still faults at shutdown... But only a minor nit

    Also installed and programmed a T3.2 with blink on: MAC and Linux Arm (Odroid XU4)
    Last edited by KurtE; 12-23-2016 at 02:21 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14,514
    I am able to reproduce the fault on Windows shutdown here too. Looks into it now...

  4. #4
    Senior Member KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,552
    I was wondering about some of the features of the 1.8.0 release, which the release notes state:
    ARDUINO 1.8.0 - 2016.12.20

    [ide]
    * Linux: running in command line mode doesn't require an X11 display anymore
    * "Save as" now clears the "modified" status
    * builder: Paths with strange UTF8 chars are now correctly handled
    * builder: .hpp and .hh file extensions are now considered valid sketch extension
    * builder: core.a is not rebuild if not needed (improve build time in particular for big projects)
    * Fixed swapped actions "Copy for Forum" and "Copy as HTML"
    * Linux/osx: If an editor tab is a symbolic link it is no more replaced with a real file when saving (see #5478)
    * Increased the upload timeout to 5 minutes (it was 2 min, but it may be not sufficient when uploading via UART a big sketch)

    [core]
    * Added Arduino.org boards
    * Added Adafruit Circuit Playground board
    * Added "-g" option to linker to keep debug information in the .elf file (see #5539)
    * avrdude: Added fake configuration for EFUSE on atmega8 part. This solves a long standing issue with "Burn bootloader".
    Thanks @rigelinorion, @awatterott
    So I wondered about could I build a teensy program from the command line on Linux (actually ARM linux). So I tried running it from a Putty window on my main machine.
    Found the syntax up at: https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/b...d/manpage.adoc

    Code:
    odroid@odroid:~/Desktop/arduino-1.8.0$ ./arduino --upload --port /dev/ttyACM0 ./                                                                                               ./examples/01.Basics/Blink/Blink.ino
    Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS:
    Loading configuration...
    Initializing packages...
    Preparing boards...
    Verifying...
    Opening Teensy Loader...
    Unable find Teensy Loader.  (p)  Is the Teensy Loader application running?
    odroid@odroid:~/Desktop/arduino-1.8.0$ ./arduino --upload --port /dev/ttyACM0 ././examples/01.Basics/Blink/Blink.ino
    Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS:
    Loading configuration...
    Initializing packages...
    Preparing boards...
    Verifying...
    Opening Teensy Loader...
    Unable find Teensy Loader.  (p)  Is the Teensy Loader application running?
    odroid@odroid:~/Desktop/arduino-1.8.0$
    So it looks like the compile succeeds, but the Teensy loader fails... Wonder how hard that would be to change?
    Last edited by KurtE; 12-23-2016 at 07:13 PM.

  5. #5
    Thank You! I am finally able to load a sketch on the 3.6 I've had for months. My computer is a 32 bit athlon and up until arduino 1.8 would not compile anything, get the dreaded
    SIGILL: illegal instruction
    PC=0x8115829
    which is fixed in 1.8 and now teensyduino works as well.

  6. #6
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14,514
    Has anyone noticed the Arduino 1.8.0 font issue on Windows?

    Should I bring in this patch?

    https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/pull/5756

    https://cloud.githubusercontent.com/...dd139dffdd.PNG

  7. #7
    Senior Member KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,552
    Yes please

    Edit: But wonder if this may imply that release 1.8.1 will be coming soon?
    Last edited by KurtE; 12-24-2016 at 01:40 PM.

  8. #8
    Member dimitre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    São Paulo
    Posts
    50
    Thanks for the release. for some reason 1.8.0 and 1.34 beta2 are super fast to compile and upload to teensy

  9. #9
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14,514
    Quote Originally Posted by dimitre View Post
    for some reason 1.8.0 and 1.34 beta2 are super fast to compile and upload to teensy
    This is probably part of the reason.
    https://github.com/arduino/arduino-builder/pull/194

    Build core.a seems to be particularly slow on Windows.


    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    But wonder if this may imply that release 1.8.1 will be coming soon?
    Probably not. For some time they've been bumping the rev number right after each release, so the nightly builds and arduinobot builds don't have the same rev as the current release.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    820
    Has anyone noticed the Arduino 1.8.0 font issue on Windows?
    Yes. I didn't notice it while I was editing the code with the IDE but it is very noticeable in the serial monitor. The font looks thinner than it was before - I'm not sure whether it is a different font or somehow it is being drawn incorrectly (wrong strokewidth?). I can live with it but it would be nice to have it fixed once it is convenient for you to do so.

    Pete

  11. #11
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    14,514
    I'm rebuilding the IDE java code with the right right now. Hope to have a 1.34-beta3 installer later today...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •