Learning SPI & OLED displays.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jim lee

I'm new to the whole SPI thing. What really got me digging into it was the uncannyEyes project that Adafruit has on their website. Bought the parts, 128x128 OLED & Teensy 3.2 processor. Hooked it all up and after some monkeying about, got it all running. The uncannyEyes runs so fast I see no refresh at all. I thought that was really slick. So, I tried writing some test code to the display myself and its really slow!

So, of course I decided to try and steal the eye code..

Having very little luck and my lack of SPI experience is holding me back.

This is the routine I wrote for doing a screen fill of a constant color. Using the same hardware as the uncannyEyes. I basically took the eye draw function, stripped out the color calculation and adapted it to my code. The line "theOLED->fillScreen(inColor->getColor16());" is my original that works, but is slow.

Code:
void adafruit_1431_Obj::fillScreen(colorObj* inColor)     { 

Serial.println("In fill screen");
  //theOLED->fillScreen(inColor->getColor16());

byte screenX;
  byte screenY;
  word color = inColor->getColor16();
  Serial.println("Gonna make the settings..");
  SPISettings settings(24000000, MSBFIRST, SPI_MODE3); // Teensy 3.1 max SPI
  Serial.println("Settings made, now lets NOT set them..");
  //SPI.beginTransaction(settings);
  Serial.println("Just set the settings");

theOLED->writeCommand(SSD1351_CMD_SETROW);    // Y range
  theOLED->writeData(0); 
  theOLED->writeData(SCREEN_HEIGHT - 1);
  theOLED->writeCommand(SSD1351_CMD_SETCOLUMN); // X range
  theOLED->writeData(0);
  theOLED->writeData(SCREEN_WIDTH  - 1);
  theOLED->writeCommand(SSD1351_CMD_WRITERAM);  // Begin write
  Serial.println("Just sent the block of commands");

digitalWrite(cs, LOW);                       // Chip select
  digitalWrite(dc, HIGH);                       // Data mode
  // Now just issue raw 16-bit values for every pixel...