Extensive MIDI controller feasibility

Status
Not open for further replies.

gwk21

Hi, I'm a bit of an amateur in this field but I'm looking for some guidance. I'm currently building a MIDI controller that consists of roughly 60 potentiometers. I plan to use teensy boards due to price and practicality but I have a few questions about the logistics.
Note: I will be using this controller within MaxMSP.

1. Due to there being a large number of connections & knobs I'll need to use multiple (Hopefully 2) boards, is this possible to having two seperate teensy boards running simultaneously on the same computer & software and if so are there any complications from doing so?

2. The teensy boards have both analog and digital pins, as I'll need to use every possible input/pin and theres are a select amount of digital and analog pins on the board, am I able to connect the potentiometers to the analog and the digital pins and treat them the same when programming?

3. In most tutorials I've seen that the board has been programmed before soldering the connections to the actual board. Is this necessary or will it be possible to programme the board, solder let's say 8 connections to the board as a test and then continue to solder the remaining connections and edit the programming afterwards to account for the extra connections.

Apologies if these are incredibly obvious but I'm somewhat new to this and would like to know where I stand with the project so any help would be much appreciated.

1) There are some minor complications getting unique names to display to the USB device manager but nothing too challenging.

2) Analog enabled PINS can also act as digital but you need to refer to the pin-out diagrams for each Teensy type to see which are able to do what.
Multiplexers can increase the number of switches or potentiometer/voltage sensors by time-sharing the analog PIN... but the cost is greatly increased complexity and it's not a novice thing