Teensy LC bricked.

Status
Not open for further replies.

yikestone

I have been using Teensy LC for two months without any problems. But now it is neither being recognized by PC nor Linux. Nothing appears in dmesg command in Linux when I connect it.
The problem began when I was compiling and uploading code to it using Arduino IDE. I realized that the build parameters were set for arduino uno. Then during compilation, I changed the build parameters in IDE to teensy LC. (I know I shouldn't have done it. Did it impulsively.) And since then Teensy LC isn't being recognized by PC. Neither as an unknown device.
How can I recover it from this state? I am willing to go to any extremes.
Nothing was connected to Teensy LC during code upload only USB cable.
I have used that code many times successfully.

Maybe program was uploaded without USB support. Have you tried building a program like blink and build it for TLC with USB set to Serial. Once the build is done, have you tried pressing the program button? I that does not work try plugging in the Teensy while holding in the program button and then release it. Then see if anything shows up.

I assume you have not cut the VIN/VUSB trace on bottom of Teensy? If you have, are you supplying power to the VIN pin.

I have tried all these. VIN VUSB trace is there. Tried uploading after supplying 5v through 5v pin also. I can upload code only after PC detects a USB device on connecting TLC.

How can I recover it from this state? I am willing to go to any extremes.

First, reboot your PC. Especially if using pre-10 Windows, there's a driver bug which can really make things very frustrating. Other systems can also get confused. Cold reboot your computer.

Then use the recovery process from this page. Scroll down to "Teensy Not Recognized by Teensy Loader".

https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/troubleshoot.html