Wireless mic: technologies for streaming realtime low or medium quality voice audio

Status
Not open for further replies.

vanantwj

This is my first time posting here. :) Thanks to Paul for developing Teensy and the recent awesome audio library, and to FrankB and others for their efforts. I discovered Teensy in the last year, after PIC years ago, and some small Arduino projects more recently. Used Teensy coupled with a small display in a mobile tester for some automotive electronics, and it worked really great. Anyway...

Anybody have advice/thoughts on making a wireless mic system? I'd like to leverage existing libraries, boards, etc. as much as possible. Ideally each mic and receiver would have a range of 100 yd, but if using something like WiFi where multiple access points could be wired, 20 or 30 yd would be acceptable. Six or eight mics would be a minimum, but ideally, we could have more. Each receiver would be connected to a Behringer X Air digital mixer for recording as well as flexible routing to multiple listening body pack headsets.

I don't need to implement any kind of audio mixing in the wireless mic body pack. It should be just a simple mic, transmitting with hopefully less than 50 ms or perhaps 100ms delay, and ideally moving to another transmission frequency regularly. I'm open to using MP3/Opus/etc compression or not, expect to be sampling at 22kHz or less, and perhaps a resolution of 12 bit. There are some solutions out there, but they are expensive or very expensive, and perhaps bulkier than would be ideal, and have larger batteries than are needed for this application.