multiple drum-trigger piezos seem to be interfering with each other

Status
Not open for further replies.

adavea

Hi all,

I'm attempting to make a drumset with piezos and a teensy 3.2, using the piezo-wiring diagram that kpc posted here: https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/2779...puts-explanation?p=65150&viewfull=1#post65150 Instead of diodes going to 3V3 I have them going to AGND. I am a total newb and this is my first major electronics project, though I have been working at it a while (my first approach was using a 555 timer before I learned about the joys of polyphony...long story :)) so I understand some of the basics, just not many.

Wiring things up as kpc diagramed (as well as in several other ways) have all worked pretty well for one piezo. I'm able to pick up the signals using analogRead, and to translate that signal into a midi signal that I pick up in Reaper w/VSTi and make drum sounds with. I do get a somewhat noisy signal, of a constant "30" reported by analogRead(), which just appears to be a function of the strength of the resistor (1M) I put in parallel to the piezo, but it's pretty easy to work around just by setting a minimum-reading constant in my code. So basically, my drumset works great for one piezo/drum.