** HOW TO**Audio lib tutorial without using an audio shield

Status
Not open for further replies.

kkiokio

Hello everyone,

I am a novice when it comes to micro controllers and electronics. I have a computer engineering background and studying HCI and design.

I am currently working on a Teensy3.6 and trying to make a wearable device that would help people who are DHH.

I was working on my project and it was brought to my attention that in order to work on audio I should go through audio lib tutorial.
I have seen a part of the original video and went through the documents.
Can they be one without an audio shield?
what are the things I might need to know for my project?

I am planning to use 4 microphones connected to a Teensy3.6 to collect data from the surrounding environment. This audio will then be processed and certain outliers in surrounding sound, lets call them sound events will be identifies and notified to the user. The user would be notified about the direction of the sound event.

Others can answer this better than I can. But you can I believe do a lot of the examples using the DAC pins of the T3.6.

There are examples up there that do this. You can see information about supported hardware up on the main audio library page: https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_Audio.html

However to use the DAC you will need some form of amplification. An example board that does this is the propshield (https://www.pjrc.com/store/prop_shield.html)
I have done it with a different amplifier chip on some of my own boards.

Reading Chip's blog the first question to the posted link was similar and the reply was:
ChipNovember 22, 2016 at 4:29 AM