audio shield + OCTOWS2811 = physically incompatible?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm developing a project that includes a Teensy 3.2 + audio shield and will incorporate neopixels + OCTOWS2811 adaptor. I'm a beginner with a mentor to help me but I'm trying to gather as much info as possible ahead of time. I've already purchased the OCTOWS2811 adaptor because I knew it would be needed in facilitating neopixels, but I didn't foresee the physical challenges of stacking it on the audio shield.

Since it's [nearly] impossible to stack the audio shield and the OCTOWS2811 adaptor due to both requiring so many pins, would it be possible to have two Teensy setups that communicate with each other?

First setup would be Teensy 3.2 + audio shield + sound input (small mic) + 3.5mm audio output (leading to several speakers)
Second setup would be Teensy 3.2 + OCTOWS2811 + output to neopixel strip

On one of the two setups I'd need an additional input for a distance sensor (not sure which setup)

and both setups would be linked to the same programming where
-based on distance (>20 ft, 20-15 ft, 15-10 ft, 10-5ft), the lights and sound output would be doing one of four different things
-if distance is <5ft, the lights and sound output would be responsive to only the sound input

Questions:
-Can we run the two different Teensy setups, having them both be conditional on the same unified inputs, and producing the same unified output? How would those be connected?
-Do I need to get another electret microphone if there's already one wired into the audio tutorial breadboard, and if so, do I really need to purchase an amplifier for the microphone if i'm not producing any sound output that's correlated to the sound input?
-Which setup should I put the distance sensor on? Does it matter?

Cheers!

Last edited: