Quadrature encoder help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shipy

Hello all,

I wrote a simple program for 2 encoders and 2 buttons using encoder public library, my question is if is possible to change encoders " println" assignment using a momentary push buton.

I would like to press a button and change key assignment for Enc A (c,d) & B (x,y) to different keys. This way I could use 2 encoders (save $$ ) It should go like this:

Default MyEnc A (c,d) & MyEnc(x,y).........press button once switch to different keyboard keys..........press again for default........I just need a little guidance for my project, should I use " state changed button" examples or

" edge detection" for this ? I'm new to Arduino programming this is my first post.

#include <Encoder.h>
#include <Bounce.h>

Bounce button0 = Bounce(0, 100);
Bounce button1 = Bounce(1, 100); // 10 = 10 ms debounce time, increase time if button too sensitive

Encoder myEncA(2, 3);
Encoder myEncB(4, 5);

void setup() {

pinMode(0, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(1, INPUT_PULLUP);

}
long oldPositionA = -999;
long oldPositionB = -999;

void loop() {

button0.update();
button1.update();

if (button0.fallingEdge()) {
Keyboard.println("a");
}
if (button1.fallingEdge()) {
Keyboard.println("b");
}
// Encoder A
long newPositionA = myEncA.read();
if (newPositionA > oldPositionA) {
oldPositionA = newPositionA;
Keyboard.println("c");
delay(150);
}
if (newPositionA < oldPositionA) {
oldPositionA = newPositionA;
Keyboard.println("d");
delay(150);
}
// Encoder B
long newPositionB = myEncB.read();
if (newPositionB > oldPositionB) {
oldPositionB = newPositionB;
Keyboard.println("x");
delay(150);
}
if (newPositionB < oldPositionB) {
oldPositionB = newPositionB;
Keyboard.println("y");
delay(150);
}

Thank you very much I appreciate your help.