DJ Midi Controller using optical encoder

Status
Not open for further replies.

GeminiWH27

I'm trying to make a Midi DJ Controller that relies on the rotation of a turntable to control the playback speed of any midi mappable dj software. I'm thinking about using a US digital optical encoder( https://www.usdigital.com/products/encoders/incremental/rotary/kit/E2 ). I already have a device that I can place this encoder inside of called the Tascam TT-M1, which is basically a device with a rubber wheel that sits on the record and the wheel is directly attached to an optical encoder. I am new to making electronic devices from scratch using Teensy. I have two questions, first question is how hard is it to use these types of encoders with Teensy for midi purposes. My 2nd question is where would I find information for the correct programming using teensy and optical encoders with midi?

For the MIDI part start with the USBmidi documentation and take a good look at the examples. There's an excellent encoder library available for rotary encoders so reading the encoder shouldn't be an issue. You might need a level shifter to connect the encoder (5V) to the teensy (3.3V) if the teensy does not tolerate 5V on the inputs. I'm not quite clear on what you are trying to achieve and how this would be used. What kind of midi control does the DJ software expect? A simple 0 to 127 value or is it a pitchbend or NRPN controller value?

regards,

Gerrit