Surface Radio FPV, 2 pots and a head tracker

Status
Not open for further replies.

davidw

I am a newbie to all of this. If I violate some protocol in my communications, I apologize in advance. I have read FAQ and a lot of messages to learn how to use the forum but I still may err.

I have many years of sailing experience and twelve years racing RC sailboats. I have a tremor in my left thumb and use a pistol grip rather than an aircraft two stick Tx. As part of my FPV design, I have not been able to find a pistol grip Tx with a buddy port to accept the head tracker signal so I am building one.

The project is to make one of my RC sailboats FPV by muxing the two pots in my radio with the three channel signal from a Trinity Head tracker using a Teensy 3.2. The design calls for two analog in channels (Throttle (Ch1) and Rudder (Ch2) ) two blank channels and three digital in channels (pan (Ch5),tilt (Ch6),roll (Ch7) from the tracker followed by a blank channel -- a total of eight to be sent through a FrSky DHT 8ch DIY Telemetry Compatible Transmitter Module to a compatible Rx on the boat. I am at the breadboard stage. I do not have an Oscope and do not know how to use one anyway.

Last night I got the code to compile for the first time. I have successfully tested analogread to uSec to serial monitor for the two pots (THR and RUD). The uS outputs are correct. The googles accept and display the signal from the boat camera.

My problem is the digital signal in and out. The googles have their own battery. The signal provides wiring are ground and signal only which I put in pin 6 and ground on the breadboard.

Here is the result from the serial monitor.
5473 : 1527.19 1527.19 1527.17 1527.19 1528.19 1529.19 1530.19 1527.19
5474 : 1527.17 1527.19 1527.19 1527.19 1528.19 1529.19 1530.17 1527.19
5475 : 1527.19 1527.19 1527.19 1527.17 1528.19 1529.19 1530.19 1527.19 (etc. etc.)