Possible danger when using low voltage signal wiring from 240vac black box?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gibbedy

I was wanting to control a cheap ($7) rgb floodlight that comes with IR remote with an arduino. We'll say teensy but really probably a pro mini or something of similar quality to the light.

I have made a slight tweak to to the IRremote library to let me send the IR code directly to the floodlight without the need for a IR LED on my side or the IR receiver on the floodlights side.

The question I have is I'm connecting my 5vdc external wiring to this lamps 5vdc wiring coming out of its resin sealed black box.

What is an easy way to insure isolation between the floodlights data/gnd and the floodlights 240vac supply?

Or put another way, prevent the possibility of a failure in the floodlights black box can't liven up my external arduino and wiring.

If inside my floodlights black box is a voltage devider across the mains and rectified.

Thanks.

I'm an electrician, so I feel safe maintaining correct isolation when making connections inside floodlight.(I know some people worry when reading posts like this)

On a side note. What is done in normal certified equipment like a computer power supply to prevent a component failure livening up the elv supplies? E.g. If an isolation transformer fuses together

Not the lamp in question, but took this the other week. A 50W floodlight installed in our factory.
IMG_8580.JPG

Last edited:
A crowbar circuit an/or some other form of voltage limiting like zeners or TVS should protect your power supply and/or data lines from spikes of overvoltages. If you really want to isolate the Teensy you can use an isolated DC-DC converter for power and optocouplers on the data lines. Not that expensive, just some more work.

Higher-end power-supplies use isolated DC-DC converters. Because the isolation transformer is in the high-frequency switching part of the supply, it can be made very small and thus cheap.