Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Ia anyone using the Fusion dual can shields or GPS shield

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104

    Is anyone using the Fusion dual can shields or GPS shield

    I just got these for a project I am working on with the Teensy 3.6.

    Issues:
    The dual-CAN shield blocks the VBATT pin. Has anyone done anything creative to get around this? I am considering just soldering a piece of wire to the pin to get it out from under the shield.


    The GPS shield blocks the reset button. I am not even sure how I can get around this. I quite often need to press the reset button and this is a real show-stopper for me.
    Last edited by Detroit_Aristo; 09-18-2017 at 11:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    245
    Have you had a look at the pics on the product pages? I'm not sure how you'd get near the reset button, although you could move the whole board down of course (you might not want to pull the needed current from pins other than dedicated 3.3V pin as pictured).



    There is really no universal way to design these boards. Everyone's project can be a bit different and I'd have to design a different board for each one.
    Last edited by Fyod; 09-11-2017 at 02:01 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104
    Thanks Fyod!

    I thought for some reason the GPS shield mounted in the same manner as the CAN shields.

    You are the man, again! Thanks.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    245
    No problem

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104
    Sigh. Maybe electronics aren't my thing.
    Last edited by Detroit_Aristo; 09-13-2017 at 02:57 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104
    Got it. Thanks Fyod for the support.

    I desoldered the wrong SMD.. then removed the correct one, soldered the one I removed back on, and gave it about 5 minutes. 12 locked satellites, position fix, and I guess my desk is moving at 1.06 kph! hahaha.

    Greatly appreciate the messages! Glad it's sorted now.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    245
    Awesome!
    Yep there might be slight deviations between positions, but that usually settles down the more sattelites get locked.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104
    Is there a better, perhaps amplified antenna you would suggest?

    I created a timer and whenever there is a power-down event, it's taking well over 5 minutes to even lock 3 satellites. The intention was to use this for speedometer, but starting the vehicle 10 minutes before it's to be driven is just a tad too long.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104
    Going on an hour now after a reset and no satellites showing locked. The time updated to the proper date and time though, so there's that.

    What are the use-case scenarios for this shield with a passive antenna? What are the options for an active antenna? None for me, I assume since I had to desolder that resistor.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    245
    Sorry I missed your previous message.
    You should get a lock within two minutes or so, under good conditions (outside or window sill, fair weather).
    It is hard to say what could be causing the delay as there is no feedback from the antenna other, than the signal itself.
    If you choose to use an active antenna, all you need to do is use a 0ohm or 10ohm resistor in place of the one you removed.
    Active antennas generally perform better, but are also more expensive ($8-12).

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by Fyod View Post
    Sorry I missed your previous message.
    You should get a lock within two minutes or so, under good conditions (outside or window sill, fair weather).
    It is hard to say what could be causing the delay as there is no feedback from the antenna other, than the signal itself.
    If you choose to use an active antenna, all you need to do is use a 0ohm or 10ohm resistor in place of the one you removed.
    Active antennas generally perform better, but are also more expensive ($8-12).
    Greatly appreciated Fyod. I'll order up an active antenna and see what kind of results I get.

    I appreciate the support post-purchase and it's because of this that you will always be my go-to when it comes to modules for the Teensy such as this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •