Sound leak left to right speaker with teensy 3.2 + Audio shield

Status
Not open for further replies.

seeyasia

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to circuitry, but I have a Teensy 3.2 on top of an Audio shield, everything works fine other than the fact that when I connect a sine wave to the left speaker only, I get feedback/leak to the right speaker. I'm trying to output one frequency from one speaker and another frequency from the other and I want it to be pretty precise. When I turn one speaker off or don't play anything from it, I still hear the sound that's being outputted by the other speaker very faintly. Is it just because it's analog sound and there is no way around it? Or is there any way to fix this?

Here is my code:
PHP:
// GUItool: begin automatically generated code
AudioSynthWaveformSine   sine1;          //xy=100,182
AudioSynthWaveformSine   sine2;          //xy=105,528
AudioOutputI2S           i2s1;           //xy=860,375
AudioConnection          patchCord1(sine1, 0, i2s1, 0);
AudioConnection          patchCord2(sine2, 0, i2s1, 1);
// GUItool: end automatically generated code

AudioControlSGTL5000     audioShield;     //xy=203,444
const int ledPin = 13;

void setup() {
  AudioMemory(20);
  audioShield.enable();
  audioShield.volume(1);
  delay(10); 

sine1.frequency(100);
    //sine2.frequency(0);
}

I still get some frequency from the right speaker... Not sure where it's coming from. Removing the sine1 frequency will remove feedback on both speakers. (Same effect from line out or headphone jack)

I also had another unrelated question, does it really matter +/- on speakers? It seems like line out on audio shield doesn't identify between which L or R are -/+ (things seem to be working the way I have it wired, but this is unrelated to the issue above as headphones wouldn't be effected.)

Thanks!

I can't say for sure (I don't have a teensy audio shield available atm) but crosstalk between the two channels should be negligible.