More TTL level converter questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

KurtE

Senior Member+
Sort of a follow on question to Frank's questions about level converters.

I am probably going to make a new version of one of the boards I play around with to support a different manufactures Servos XYZ, which has full duplex TTL servos. There spec shows 5v TTL, so thought I would add TTL level translations... But while I was at it wondered if I should update some of my other converters on the board...

Some of it can be seen (maybe) in the extract from schematic... Please pardon the mess...
Teensy-TTL-Level_converters.jpg

Also please pardon some of my questions as I am a Software Developer and not an EE... Many things I have done on the boards were simply using stuff I saw on other boards. So some of these questions may be obvious. The n) numbers below refer to the arrows in the picture above.

1) I am using an BSS138CT to do level translations for output to a Neopixel (maybe more than one). I am using same setup like the sparkfun board where two PU resistors. With this setup I notice that if I don't initialize and use the Neopixel it usually starts up lit with some color... Wondering if it would work that on the 3.3v side to instead of use the 10K PU change it to a PD?

2) I added two more BSS138CT with PU resistors to handle RX/TX on Serial3 for the XYZ servos. They appear to have a max of 115200 baud rate. Could probably go with Unidirectional, but thought if I use this board without these servos maybe nice to have those pins available at 5v? Reasonable?