Individually addressable led strips, over a larger distance? (for use on stage)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yabbus

Bear with me as I'm a complete programming/arduino/teensy noob, And even though I have done quite some research I'm totally inexperienced...
I do hope you could help me with our project though!

The idea
We want to make multiple fixtures with the 'Infinity mirror' effect that we can mount/put up on stage and have addressable RGB leds.
(probably starting with two... or multiple smaller ones)
Something like this:
infinity-mirror-max-0245-00-366x210.jpg

Controlling them

I would like to control them with a program like Glediator, Jinx or Pixelcontroller or another pixel mapping application from a laptop.
I'd like to control them from the side backstage, or from the sound/light booth, since I wont be the performing myself.

Also, as opposed to most projects I've come across with the Teensy and Octows2811 library/adapter, there would be quite some distance between the different led strips/fixtures...
This is a really quick mockup of a possible shape/setup:
Led Fixtures.png

This guy has a pretty cool setup:

Artnet right?
I'm pretty sure working over Artnet/Ethernet is preferrable over USB, considering the longer distance and I might want to expand the amount of leds or add other dmx/artnet fixtures in the future...
So I've taken a good look at this thread: https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/24688-Artnet-to-OctoWS2811
Unless there's something I'm overlooking and theres a better option all together...

Questions
- How would I best go about connecting the fixtures with the controller and eachother?
(I believe the guy in the video said in the description he used xlr cables to connect the leds... how would that work?)

- Would it be feasible to work with standard led strip connectors/extension cables like these?