Accessing PROGMEM correctly with Structs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ein

I am a miserable beginner, so please be patient with me, but I would very much appreciate help. I have a complex and growing program that displays information on a TFT display using an Arduino (Teensy 3.2, more specifically). I've been trying to tame the situation with some structs, but I'm not sure I'm doing this correctly in order to keep as much as possible in PROGMEM and out of RAM.

Some pseudo-code below to explain what I'm doing:

I have a file I have split all of my graphical data off into called "graphics.h" which I am #including where necessary to utilize its contents. This file has a number of data sets:

• Multiple sets of 4-bit-per-pixel bitmap data. These are stored in PROGMEM in uint8_t arrays. EX:
    const uint8_t bitmap1[] PROGMEM = { 0x00, 0x00... etc ... };
    const uint8_t bitmap2[] PROGMEM = { 0xFF, 0XFF... etc ... };
    ... and so on, and so on. A bunch of these.
  • Sets of color palettes, stored in uint32_t arrays, which correlate with the bitmap sets. EX:
    const uint32_t colorSet1[] PROGMEM = { 0xFF5A737E, 0XFF64808C... etc ... };

These palettes don't correlate 1:1 to the bitmaps, meaning I use one palette for multiple images, rather than one palette per image.

Now, I have been using the data in this file without issue. I am using a variant of the ILI9341_t3 library, which has a 4-bit-per-pixel bitmap writing function that works with the above data types. I have an object from this library that I have named 'tft' and if I want to draw something, I just have to call the writeRect4BPP() function, EX:

Code:
tft.writeRect4BPP(x, y, width, height, bitmap2, colorSet1);

The writeRect4BPP function is itself looking for pointers to the bitmap and colorSet:
Code:
void ILI9341_t3::writeRect4BPP(int16_t x, int16_t y, int16_t w, int16_t h, const uint8_t *pixels, const uint32_t * palette ){}