PMT pulse counting using Teensy 3.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

janjos

Hello,

For the last 20 years I've been programming embedded controllers, 8051 family, Zilog, Rabbit, Atmel, using Basic and C languages and sometimes assembler for time critical pieces of code.
Since more or less 1 year I'm using Arduino (Uno, Mega) boards through the Arduino IDE and AVR Studio.

For a new project of the chemistry department of the University I work for, I need to count TTL level pulses coming from the amplifier of a Photo Multiplier tube. I tried this with the mentioned Arduino boards and arrived to the limit of the power processing of the controllers.
What I did was feed the TTL pulse to an external interrupt pin. In the ISR (INT0_vect) I increment a long unsigned. I can count no more than 250 K pulses per second.
I would like to have a counting error of no more than 0,01%.

I have no experience with ARM processors so the last days I have been reading a lot of information on this forum. I did not find yet what I'm looking for.
My question is, if I use the same principle (external interrupt) using a Teensy 3.2 running at 72 MHz, will I be able to count up to 5 million pulses per second ?
And in the meanwhile send the count value to a remote location using serial communication ?

Thanks for your comments.
Janjos

The interrupt solution is most probably not the most reliable and quickest way to go. I’d rather suggest that you look at the source code of the Teensy FreqCount library which uses an internal timer/counter directly without the interrupt overhead and an at least go up to more than 10 MHz.

No, it definitely will not count to 5 MHz using interrupts.

I did a quick test just now.

Teensy 3.2 running at 72 MHz can handle up to 1.05 MHz.

Teensy 3.6 running at 180 MHz can handle up to 2.5 MHz.

The key to getting this performance is NVIC_SET_PRIORITY to raise the priority level of the interrupt. Here's the code I tested on both boards.

Code: