Teensy 3.5 OctoWS2811 WS2812B Pixel Tree

Status
Not open for further replies.

clikeness

Im a noob. now thats out of the way, i am attempting to build a pixel tree that is (a 180 degree tree) for a boat parade. basically going to swap out the 2" steel post on the bow used for the table with a 2" PVC and use that as the tree center for the front of the boat having the display.

Equipment: 1 x Teensy 3.5, 1 x OctoWS2811, 19 x 5M (30/M) WS2812B Mokungit Addressable RGB LED Strips, 2 x 5V 60A AC to DC Power Supplies. plenty of Cat 6 cables, weather-proof housing, 3 pin connectors, etc.
I am planning on cutting the 5M strips in half to create 38 strips of 75 pixels ea. (total of 2850 pixels). the linear ft. for the "half circle" i would like to create is approx. 12' (bow of boat is approx 8' wide).

Questions: will the teensy 3.5 & octows2811 be enough to support all of these, or should i look at getting a controller board?
Software - if i can utilize what i have, what would be the best (easiest) software to learn/program/use if i would like to have the show sync'd with audio (and preferably, because i am short on time, some sketches that may be up for grabs to use while i'm learning? i have downloaded both vixen and xlights. i have been able to get the teensyduino to do a strand test successfully using pin2 for data, 150, 300 & 450 pixels by connecting 3 strips.
Audio - my boat does have a sound system & receiver (with bluetooth) that i plan to use for the audio during the parade. should i get a bluetooth controller, or should i look at using a laptop on the boat that is bluetooth capable to broadcast to the receiver and teensy simultaneously? doubt i would be able to connect to the teensy and head unit simultaneously with bluetooth, but could connect with another phone and start the song and program simultaneously