Installing Teensyduino on Raspberry Pi 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

tenorjazz

Hey Guys,

I just bought a couple of Teensy boards to build a number of USB midi controllers. I have been working with Arduino but the Teensy looks like a much better solution for what I am trying to do. For many reasons I am using a Raspberry Pi3 to do all the development. I should mention that I am a real beginner with Linux so a lot of the commands and processes are not familiar to me. I have already installed and have been using the Arduino editor and it is working well.

I am having problems trying to figure out how to install Teensyduino. I have downloaded the Teensy linuxarm installer but not sure how to install it. Can someone help?

Thanks

Hi and welcome,

I assume you already found it, but there are some instructions up on the pjrc website: https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_download.html

Other notes:

a) Hopefully you installed Arduino IDE from the Arduino website and not using apt-get install... The apt-get install version is not a real arduino install and teensyduino won't install on it.

b) As mentioned in the above link, you need to install udev rules to work with linux. Assuming you are using a gui, you typically need to do something like right click on the udev rules link and use a command like save as. Once the file is downloaded you need to copy it to the right place.

c) You need GUI to install the teensyduino. Once you download it to your machine, you need to run it. The problem typically is, the file is not marked as executable. You can resolve this a couple of ways:

Command line, assuming you are in downloads directory, something like: chmod +x TeensyduinoInstall*