Wireless sound/knock to USB HID spacebar signal.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TFritz

I would like to create a long range wireless device that will translate the sound/shock from a starting pistol or an air horn ( possibly using NFR24L01 tranceivers and teensy(s)) to a receiving teensy that will output a HID keyboard spacebar signal to a computer to start software. Once this is figured out I would like to also incorporate a stopwatch device on the transmitting end that can store the time of day of each start signal sent.

I am a total newby to this stuff, but have some electronic experience. Anyone interested in helping?

If it's as simple as scanning for a loud impulse-like sound in a low-level background then you could start with the example code for a mono-peak meter:
File > Examples > Audio > Analysis > PeakMeterMono

Scanning for the value to rise above some threshold shouldn't be too hard.

If you need to limit to some portion of the audio spectrum then a low-res FFT object could be used (https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/gui/?info=AudioAnalyzeFFT256) but then defining what constitutes a valid trigger becomes the hard part.

You could pre-filter the audio before feeding it to a peak object to attenuate frequencies outside of the band you're interested in. This could be easier to 'tune' by altering the filter parameters than it would be to analyze the FFT bin data.

Oddson,

I think you understand what I am trying to do, but I am hoping to not have it continually scanning, but more like a discrete switching signal of some type at the instance the gun is fired or the air horn is activated. Could this be done with a simple Piezo device/Piezo switch with threshold set at some level that would screen out noises at lower levels than the sound of the gun/horn. I am thinking there must be a simple way to latch the sound to a digital output and then send that signal to the receiver wirelessly and translate that signal in to a HID spacebar.