Two Teensy 3.6 to work together

Lestra

Hi everybody, I am so excited to be here for the first time but be aware I am total newbie!

I want to build Midi Xylophone and my questions to you guys is:

1. Is it possible to connect/merge two Teensy 3.6 to work together? It is because I need 48 analog inputs in total.
  2. If two Teensy works together does it slow down? Significantly?

Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure if that's the best solution because even with so many analog inputs, each Teensy might (and only with hand-optimized code) read 2 analog inputs at a time. Using more will force you to write code to cycle through the different inputs and to look if the level of one of them has changed. This will slow everything down ways more than a hi-speed SPI communication between two Teensys. I'd rather go for external multi channel ADCs and use just one single Teensy to collect data from all these and generate the sound.

Theremingenieur thank you so much for response. As a musical instrument xylophone must be able to play 4 notes (with 4 mallets) at the same time.

Please tell me is "external multi channel ADC" some sort of analog inputs extended "device"? And could you please point me to good one? Thanks.

First, to answer your question, yes there are several ways to use more than 1 board. All of those ways involve trade-offs, so which would work depends heavily on the details of what you're actually doing.