Using USB Midi Control Change info to control a LEDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

nicnut

Hi,

I am new to Teensy and not the best at writing code.

My goal is to use Midi Control Change info to control multiple LEDs (ultimately 14). I altered some example code and stuff I found on the forum to come up with the code I have now, for 2 LEDs and it works fine, but I am wondering if there is a better way to write this out. Also if the way I have it is the fastest way to transmit the messages over midi to control the LEDs. I want this to be as accurate as possible as I will be syncing this to audio midi messages in the end.

Let me know what you think. Thank you.

Code:
const int MIDIchannel = 2;   // this will only apply to midi channel 2
const int ledPin0 = 0;    // digital pin 0 
const int ledPin1 = 1;    // digital pin 1 
const int ledcontroller15 = 15;    // midi control change 15
const int ledcontroller16 = 16;    // midi control change 16

void setup() {
  pinMode(ledPin0, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledPin1, OUTPUT);
  usbMIDI.setHandleControlChange(myControlChange);

// digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
//  digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
}

void loop() {
  usbMIDI.read(MIDIchannel);
}

void myControlChange(byte channel, byte control, byte value)  {

if (channel == MIDIchannel
      && control == ledcontroller15
      && value == 0) 

digitalWrite(ledPin0, LOW);

&& control == ledcontroller15
      && value == 127) 

digitalWrite(ledPin0, HIGH);    // note: short leg of LED connected to ground, long leg to digital pin

&& control == ledcontroller16
      && value == 0) 

digitalWrite(ledPin1, LOW);

&& control == ledcontroller16
      && value == 127) 

digitalWrite(ledPin1, HIGH);

}

Seems fine to me. If you really want to be efficient (and we're really nit-picking here) is to restructure the conditional checks such that

- the same data (i.e. MIDIchannel) is not checked multiple times as it moves through the list