Teensyarduino won't install

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to Teensy and just got Teensy 3.2. I can't get Teensyarduino to install. I don't know where the Arduino installer put the files. Arduino 1.8.5 is installed and working, but I don't know where its "folder" is (which is where Teensyarduino wants to be.

If you're using Windows, the default location is C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino. The Teensyduino installer is supposed to select this automatically, if it is a supported copy of Arduino.

Whichever OS you're using, you're doing *something* to run Arduino, maybe double clicking an icon? Each system has ways to look at properties or other info to figure out where the files are located. But we can't see your screen. We can't even know if you have a Mac, Windows or Linux computer. To help you solve this, you really need to show us what you've got, like sharing a screenshot.

Nice work getting a Teensy! What OS?

On Windows I pull down the ZIP and extract to a known folder and run from there - and then know where to point the Teensy Installer. IIRC that works on Linux too. Windows will install by default to a PROGRAMS folder - but that is icky and I stopped doing that - not sure but Windows Arduino installer may have gone to documents? There are notes about apple locations - but don't know about that. Windows allows right click to get locations of things - no idea if that applies.

Thanks, I have Windows 10. The Arduino IDE's icon appears on the taskbar and also under the "A's" where all the other programs are listed.

screenshot.png

Last edited:
On the Start Menu: Right click on Arduino : select 'More' : 'Open File Location'

That should be where the Arduino install is located.

Did you by any chance do a "Windows AppStore Install" - if so that will not work for TeensyDuino.