How to generate USB MIDI clock with Teensy 2.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

laserr

I am a Teensy newbie.

I know how to send note/on/off, continuous controllers via USB MIDI in my MIDI controller projects.

Can someone show me in a simple sketch how to generate MIDI Clock using usbMIDI.sendRealTime(usbMIDI.Clock);

I cannot find any examples that send MIDI clock over USB. I don't need to sync with a DAW, I want to control the tempo of a Kontakt 5 instrument in standalone mode. No DAW is involved.

I know how to read a potentiometer to generate a variable. How to insert the variable into "clock".

Thanks!

Maybe something like this?

Code:
void setup() {
}
void loop()  {
  usbMIDI.sendRealTime(usbMIDI.Clock);
  usbMIDI.send_now();
  delay(125);
}

Maybe something like this?

Code:
void setup() {
}
void loop()  {
  usbMIDI.send_now();
  delay(125);
}

Paul,

The above does not show me how generate the variable "Clock".

For example generating a MIDI CC (continuous controller) like Modulation is easy.
I read a pot:
int mod = map(analogRead(7), 0, 1023, 0, 117);
Then insert the variable "mod"
usbMIDI.sendControlChange(1, mod, 1); The first 1 is the CC type "1" modulation, mod is amount of modulation, and the last 1 is the MIDI channel. It is very intuitive.

How do do a similar thing for clock?

MIDI Real Time Clock is a 1 byte event message without a parameter. It's more like a click-track than a clock.

Effectively usbMIDI.clock IS the parameter since it's value (defined as 0xF8) IS the realtime message.

So how do I vary the timing of between clocks in order to control the tempo of the external MIDI instrument?