Dedicated controller for soft synth that also reflects current settings

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheilaanderson

Hi, I am new to teensy development, so before I start any project, I first want to check if it is possible to achieve what I want with Teensy.

Here is what I would like to create:
a dedicated midi controller for soft synths (plug-ins). However, it should not just be able to sent values, but also receive and reflect current settings. So, when a different preset is selected, the new values should automatically be updated and shown on the midi controller.

This is how I would like to do it:
I want to use endless encoders with led rings or bars. The leds reflect the value of the current setting. Furthermore motorised faders, that also are automatically updated when a different setting is chosen.

This will be the environment: Logic as vst host on a Macbook.

The first question I have, is:
Is it possible with teensy to receive settings from a soft-synth (plugin) running in Logic (current selected plug-in). If so, where can I find any documentation or examples regarding which information is sent by Logic and how it can be processed with Teensy.

To be clear: it is not about controlling Logic nor its smart controls. I just want to control the plug-in itself. Logic is only the host.

Thank you in advance for your comments.

As far as I know getting feedback from Logic (or any other DAW) is only possible through the Mackie Control (or HUI) protocol. Logic also supports OSC (Open Sound Control,for the Ipad remote app) but I never could find any documentation on that, a question about documentation on the Logic support forum was never answered.
There are two major issues with the Mackie control protocol:
1. A typical controller can only access 8 parameters at a time for each midi port and there's absolutely no control over which parameters.