How to wire ILTMS lightsaber?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elias

Hey guys,

I am currently trying to remake the I Like To Make Stuff lightsaber seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0d-wT6YS4w

But I am a beginner to electronics and have been struggling to figure out how to make this all work.

This is the code ILTMS provides: https://www.github.com/iliketomakes...tsaber_v1/blob/master/ILTMS_lightsaber_v1.ino

And these are the components I have:
- 30 LED/m Dotstar LED strip
- Battery holder with 4 NiMH 1.2V batteries
- 2 buttons
- 8 ohm speaker
- Teensy 3.2 connected to prop shield (https://www.pjrc.com/store/prop_shield.html)

If anyone could please help me figure out how I should connect all of these together, I would be super grateful.

Thank you!

so there's a few things to figure out it seems - audio and LEDs. Also think about power.

LEDs
I don't have experience with dotstar leds, but sounds like they're very similar to neopixels. Looks like it's an I2C interface - and for the most part since they're pretty popular you won't have to worry about the protocol too much as others have done the work for you. Adafruit has a tutorial and library to walk you through the process of addressing these LEDs. Should be pretty simple once you get the library working.

Audio
That article you linked on the prop shield looks like a good place to start to get audio going. Walks through changes to make in the example code for you to get it up and running with teensy 3.2

Power
The 4 batteries at nominal voltage will be around 4.8v. This should be fine to wire into the Vin on the teensy right next to the usb port.