LED display for outdoor usage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crowbar

Hello dear PJRC community,

First of all, I hope this is in the right forum.

I'm currently in the process of building LED displays for outdoor usage. This is something I'm new to so bear with me :)
The display should measure 1000x700mm with a pitch of between 5-16mm (depending on amount of power), driven by a Teensy 3.6 with the ethernet module, powered by a 12v car battery. I know this size of display draws a tremendous amount of current but thats a problem for later :)

In the first version I've used the WS2812 5050 pixels. They are perfect indoors but as soon as I try it outside, with some sunlight, it completely washes the colors out and it's almost impossible to see the graphics. I've also built a sun shield to protect the display and it somewhat helps but during certain hours during the day I'm still having problems + this is not feasible / possible to have for the end product.

Started doing some research and it seems that most outdoor displays use DIP LEDs instead of SMD so I looked into display modules with DIP LEDs and found the following product LINK.
They look promising. However, I have NO CLUE how to display any kind of graphic on them. It says that it accepts the following signal "AV, S-Video, VGA, DVI, YPbPr, HDMI, SDI", but can the Teensy handle / provide that?

Summary and the final question: Does anyone here av any advice or experience of what kind of LEDs I should use for this project? They need to be visible and not wash out in direct sunlight. They need to be controlled from a Teensy. If possible, it should also be weatherproof.

Thank you for your time!

Regards

Last edited:
As you've discovered, the sun is very bright. One car battery won't supply enough current to light your display for long at levels required to compete with direct sunlight.

You might want to look into the power requirements of traffic lights and scale the numbers to the size of your display.