DSP block - Optimize FIR filters?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello guys,

I'm using this code, for the teensy 3.6, to do system identification in the audio range based on adaptive filtering.

Is working really well but I would really like to know if there is a way of optimizing the code so I can use bigger filters with the same sampling rate. I've been working with signal processing for a while but I'm fairly new to embedded systems.

I read that the ARM cortex M4 has some built-in optimized DSP functions. How can I use them to make the code run faster? How can I make the Fir filtering with those functions?

I'm accepting any advices and tips.

Obs: Im not using the audio shield

/*

Created in : 15/06/2017 11:26:03
Author: Artur Zorzo

*/

/* System Identification with LMS and white noise //

// Teensy 3.6 */

#include <arduino.h>

// Declaration

long int a = 0; // Stop criterion

const int taps = 50; // Fir filter size

float w[taps]; // Fir filter vector

unsigned int x[taps]; // Signal Vector

signed int e; // Error variable

unsigned int r; // Random number

unsigned int y = 0; // Filter output

unsigned int d; // Input

float g; // Sum

//CONFIGURATIONS

void setup() {

analogReadResolution(12); // AD Resolution

analogWriteResolution(12); // DAC Resolution

Serial.begin(19200); // Serial communication

analogWrite(A22, 2048);

delayMicroseconds(30);

}// Setup end

//Loop

void loop() {

r = random(4095); // White noise generation

x[0] = r;

analogWrite(A22, r);

y = 0; // y initialization

for (int i = 0; i <= (taps - 1); i++) // Convolution
{
y = y + w * x;
}

d = analogRead(A0);

e = d - y; // Error calculation

for (int i = 0; i <= (taps - 1); i++) // Filter refresh
{
g = (((float)x * e) / (400000000.00));
w = w + g;
}

for (int i = (taps - 1); i >= 1; i--) // Signal vector refresh
x = x[i - 1];
}

// Show filter coeficients

if (a == 50000)
{

for (int i = 0; i <= (taps - 1); i++)
{
Serial.print(w);
Serial.print("\t");
}

while (1)
{
}

}