Teensy 3.6 multiple I2C devices

Status
Not open for further replies.

scrimarco

Hello everybody,

I am a college student fairly new to arduino/circuits and need some help implementing 2 I2C devices. I'm not too experienced with I2C devices, and am not sure how to run multiple at once (since according to the website: https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_Wire.html, there is only one set of I2C pints).

I'm trying to use a MPU6050 accelerometer, and PCF8523 RTC, which both require the SDA and SCL pins.
Can anybody advise me on how I could wire and code to use multiple I2C devices at once?

Thank you!

EDITED: I went more indepth in the comments below, please see those

Attachments

• issues3.png
    issues3.png
    21.4 KB · Views: 291
Last edited:
Here's some more details:

I've notice that both MPU6050 and PCF8523 use the 0x68 addresses, but that the MPU6050 can use the 0x69 address. (I'm attempting to use 0x69)

My wiring is as follows:
-Both devices receive 3.3V from separate outputs
-Both devices go into separate Grounds
-Both devices have SDA connected to the Teensy 3.6 pin 18
-Both devices have SCL connected to the Teensy 3.6 pin 19

Here is my code:
Code:
// Date and time functions using a DS1307 RTC connected via I2C and Wire lib
#include <Wire.h>
#include "RTClib.h"

#if defined(ARDUINO_ARCH_SAMD)
// for Zero, output on USB Serial console, remove line below if using programming port to program the Zero!
   #define Serial SerialUSB
#endif

#include "I2Cdev.h"
#include "MPU6050.h"
MPU6050 accelgyro(0x69);

RTC_PCF8523 rtc;
int16_t ax, ay, az;
int16_t gx, gy, gz;

char daysOfTheWeek[7][12] = {"Sunday", "Monday", "Tuesday", "Wednesday", "Thursday", "Friday", "Saturday"};

void setup () {

#if I2CDEV_IMPLEMENTATION == I2CDEV_ARDUINO_WIRE
        Wire.begin();
    #elif I2CDEV_IMPLEMENTATION == I2CDEV_BUILTIN_FASTWIRE
        Fastwire::setup(400, true);
    #endif

Serial.begin(38400);

accelgyro.initialize();