Newb needs some help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gamefreak

As said in title I am new to using a teensy. To get to my point, I want to use my teensy lc as a gamepad and I have no idea where to start and how to do that. YES I did look at the examples given but it did not work the way I wanted to. I am trying to have a 14 button and 2 joystick type gamepad, when I used example code provided on raspberry pi 3 it was all wonky and buggy. did I do something wrong when soldering or do I have to edit the example code?

The normal starting point is the one I think you are already using
https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_joystick.html
Which example code are you using, and can you describe or post a picture of your hardware wiring?
Anther step to finding out where in the hardware/firmware/USB/driver/OS chain things are going wrong is to use the digital IO examples to verify your hardware is actually all wired up right without the joystick elements.

Would be amazing if there was an example that had those exact details in mind - in any case seeing a reference the example used would allow for detailed review.

That is a great deal of soldering to do all at once. Better to tackle it in steps seeing and keeping it working ... a button or two ... then the next logical small step to minimize rework or hidden errors.

"did not work the way I wanted to." - doesn't help a reader understand if it worked at all - or not at all so that could use more detail as well.

The soldering could be checked for bridges and tested for expected continuity to the right pin. When the soldering is right the software ideally can make it work as expected.