[posted] Making a Twin Engine RC Airplane Safe (TwinAir Project)

Zaite12

Hi Teensy Community,

"Making a Twin Engine RC Airplane Safe" - a Teensy project called TwinAir

(RC means Remote Control for anyone unsure)

Some background information

A friend and I have been flying model airplanes for about 15 years. We have always been a member of a local RC club and over the years we have watched numerous twin engine aircraft come and inevitably go (in a trash bag) after sadly crashing and breaking into many pieces. In almost all cases it has been due to one engine failing and the remaining engine taking the plane to the scene of the crash. This may surprise you (or maybe not!) that flying a twin engine RC airplane on a single engine is a non trivial task when you are standing potentially hundreds of meters away, however, with correct use it not only results in a higher performance platform but one that has a significantly greater chance of being able to return to the field and land in the event of the loss of one engine.

The solution for most RC fliers with twin aircraft is to simply cut the remaining engine in the event of a failure and "dead stick" land. While benefiting from the performance gain, the reliability and return offering a twin gives is lost. This is understandable because a high performance airplane will rapidly become uncontrollable without prompt and correct use of rudder. It will most likely enter an uncontrollable spin and roll while the user is confused as to which engine and which input needs to be applied.

In summary for twin RC aircraft:

- It is hard to know which engine has failed from a distance, made even harder if you can't hear the model due to other RC planes in the circuit at the same time
- Recognition of an engine failure and prompt and use of rudder is essential, again difficult to reliably achieve from a distance