teensy 3.5 interrupt using timer ovf

Status
Not open for further replies.

demkat1

Hello,
I was using arduino so far and this is my first project in teensy.
In fact I have a code running on arduino and want to transfer it (or modify accordingly) so to use teensy.
The whole task is to (mainly) calculate the product of 2 trigonometric numbers , do some conversions and output the result (for use with a DAC).
Because the floats are out of discussion (too slow on arduino), i used integer calculations instead (for example: uint16_t(sin(a)*65535)).
But even with this approach I cant go faster than 20usec

the project uses an ovf interrupt every 30usec (to redirect flow to the main routine), on a mega2560.

The code for the i/r is
Code:
void setup()
{
  pinMode(40, OUTPUT); //oscillo
  pinMode(41, OUTPUT); //oscillo
  for (x = 22; x < 38; x++) pinMode(x, OUTPUT); //outputs

cli();
  // use timer5
  // ( initialise  values)
  TCCR5A = 0;    // set entire TCCR1A register to 0
  TCCR5B = 0;    // set entire TCCR1B register to 0

TIMSK0 &= ~(1 << TOIE0); //disable millis(), avoid jittering
  TIMSK5 |= (1 << TOIE1 ); // Enable overflow interrupt
  sei();

TCNT5 = LoadValue; // Preload timer with precalculated value

TCCR5B |= (1 << CS10 ); // Set up timer at Fcpu /1

}
//---------------------------------------------------

ISR ( TIMER5_OVF_vect )
{ 
//show on osc "start of isr"
PORTG = PORTG & B11111101;
//show on osc "end of isr"
  PORTG = PORTG | B00000010;
}

I have done all the changes for the input, calculation and output, (for example instead of PORTA ->GPIOA_PDDR and GPIOA_PDOR ), no help is needed for this part
But I cannot find a solution for the i/r
Some help would be much appreciated
thank you.

Note, the Teensy 3.5 and 3.6 have hardware single precision (float) support. It is much faster than the software emulation on an Arudino AVR. The AVR processor used in Arduinos is much slower than a 3.5 running at 120Mhz even without doing floating point.