Midi Controller using MIDIcontroller library (first project ever, plz help :) )

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gripporillat

Hi everyone,

first of all, I'm absolutely new to this, this is my first teensy project, even my first microcontroller project ever. The last time I tried coding was php4 so I'm kind of new to coding as well :)

My final goal is to build a simple but kind of huge Midi controller. (71 analog and 31 digital inputs) I'd like to use the MIDIcontroller library because it seems very easy to use. I couldn't figure out yet how to do multiplexing with this library and I hope you can help me with that but first of all I did a little testing to check if I'm capable to build a very simple controller.

This is my circuit:

test2.jpg

And this is my Code:

Code:
#include "MIDIcontroller.h"
byte MIDIchannel = 1;
const int buttonPin = 0; 

const int potPin = A9;

// MOMENTARY buttons are the default. LATCH or TRIGGER may also be set
MIDIbutton button1(buttonPin, 0, MOMENTARY);          
MIDIpot myPot(potPin, 1);

void setup(){
}

void loop(){
  button1.send();
  myPot.send();
}

First of all: IT WORKS! YEAH! But I'm experiencing a little bug: I'm using a slide potentiometer and the lowest value I get from it is 1, not 0. Can anyone tell me why?

Thx in advance!

More questions:

As I said, I want to build a Midi controller with 71 analog and 31 digital Inputs.

- Can a single teensy 3.5 properly handle this? Even if the User pushes multiple buttons at once and/or moves 10 slide potentiometers at once?
- Is the MIDIcontroller library the right choice for this project? Is it fast enough?
- Can I use the 3.3V pin of the teensy to power all this or will I need an additional power supply?
- I guess I should use external pullup resistors for the digital inputs. What kind of resistors should I use?
- What would be the best choice for the potentiometers? 5k?10k?50k?

Thx again!
Robert