powering question

Status
Not open for further replies.

beeble

full disclaimer: total noob here.
trying to make a midi controller to add functionality to a drum machine, a roland tr-09 using a teensy 3.5.

my plan is to power the teensy through a 6v power supply, then send midi via usb to the usb port in the tr-09, which would ALSO power it (or so i hope). the tr-09 runs on 4 AAs or, more usually i guess, via usb. 4 AAs = 6 v.

does anybody have any experience with similar projects, and am i on the right path? i know i could start tinkering right away but i don't wanna fry the teensy or, of course, the tr-09, so i thought it was wise asking here first.

thanks a lot in advance

full disclaimer: total noob here.
trying to make a midi controller to add functionality to a drum machine, a roland tr-09 using a teensy 3.5.

my plan is to power the teensy through a 6v power supply, then send midi via usb to the usb port in the tr-09, which would ALSO power it (or so i hope). the tr-09 runs on 4 AAs or, more usually i guess, via usb. 4 AAs = 6 v.

It depends on your AA batteries. Non-rechargeable AA alkaline/lithium batteries are only 6v (i.e. each battery is 1.5v) when they are fresh. As you draw down the power drops. This is how the simple minded battery level gauges work -- the see what the voltage is currently reading to tell you what the charge level is.

Rechargeable Nimh/lithium ion batteries in AA form tend to be at 1.2v per battery (i.e. 4.8v). The battery delivers 1.2v for a longer period of time before starting to drop the voltage.

If you use lithium ion batteries directly, they tend to deliver 4.2 volts initially and drop to 3.7 volts for most of the discharge. Note, if you put the common battery chargers in the circuit, many of them are limited to 5.5 volts of power, so a 6 volt surge might damage them.