new Teensy 3.6 user

Status
Not open for further replies.

32bits

Hi this is my first post as a new user of Teensy 3.6 and Arduino.

If my questions as a new user are covered elsewhere please send links to find the information. My background is a hobbyist learning C and previously coding PIC32's with various I2C sensors, BME280, TSL light level, rotary encoder, 320 x 240 LCD, GPS etc. My plans for the Teensy include driving a larger TFT display, 5" or 7" hopefully with no updating/refresh lag and show screen layouts designed with graphic primitives. The PIC32 currently used is out of steam for anything larger than 320 x 240, video playback is not required. Below are some of my questions.

1/ I have checked the list of libraries on the RJRC site and a TFT version is not listed, I have used ILI9341 via a Mikro C library, which gives lines, circles, fonts, dots etc and wonder if a similar TFT library is available for the Teensy and also Libraries for other TFT chipsets?

2/ For supported TFT libraries how fast are they for screen updates and complete screen redraws? It would also be good to know if any libraries use a frame buffer / DMA to update the TFT and if all the library commands are documented and where to find the information and files to download.

3/ Coming from a more professional IDE how feasible is writing a large program (100-200 lines or larger) in the Arduino IDE and are there better IDE's available that will work with Teensy, to write, compile and program a Teensy board all from one Windows / Unix environment?

Michael

Last edited:
For ILI9341, normally this optimized library is used:

https://github.com/PaulStoffregen/ILI9341_t3
https://www.pjrc.com/store/display_ili9341_touch.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tioOB3Ysz70

Frank made a frame buffer & DMA version for his C64 emulator project.

https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/46168-posted-Commodore-C64-Emulation-on-a-Teensy-3-6-Microcontroller