Power ON/OFF with mechanical switch (no external supply)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DiegoSilva

Hi guys,
I'm completely new to Teensy or actually building any circuits but with the help of internet I am working on a control panel (~20 2-position switches, few buttons and ~20 LED) with Teensy 3.6.
Tho most of the things needed I already have planned, there is however one I can't find the correct answer for. Every single I found apply to external power.
The board will get power from USB port only, I have no intentions to add any external power supply. However, I would like to be able to turn on/off the entire panel with one mechanical 2-position switch.
Is it possible when using USB only? If yes, could you tell me what pins I should use and how exactly step-by-step connect it?

Regards
Diego

If you strip the USB cable, you'll see 4 wires plus the shield. You can cut the red wire, and put a switch in-between. This will cut/apply the 5V to teensy, which I presume thats what you want switched off.

One way to do it is to cut the line between VUSB and VIN (VUSB is the power line from the USB and in the inside row of 4 pins, VIN is the external power line from the Teensy). Once you cut it, you solder a wire from VIN to a mechanical switch, and VUSB on the other side. When the switch is closed, the Teensy gets power, when it is open, it doesn't.

Unfortunately, VIN and VUSB are not directly next to each other, so you couldn't just put in a 3 pin on-off switch directly on the Teensy (without bending some wires).

Here is an old discussion of how to do it.

If you ever think about powering the Teensy with a li-po battery, you can buy this charger that is meant to sit underneath (or on top) of the Teensy. You have to cut the VIN/VUSB solder trace. If there is 5v USB power, it will charge the battery as well as power the Teensy. If there is no USB power, it will use the battery. The charger has an integral on/off switch that cuts power to the Teensy: