Controller for SSL Console plug-in

Status
Not open for further replies.

starsend

Hi everyone, I am a newly registered user and want to thank you in advance for your help and advice.

I am a professional musician/producer and I rely heavily on a certain Brainworx plugin called bx_console E. Here’s a link to see the layout: https://www.brainworx.audio/products/brainworx/bx-console-ssl-4000-e.html. I hate moving knobs with a mouse and I decided to have a look into building a cdedicated midi controller for it. I am not totally new to electronics but the coding part might be a problem!

This plugin will be instatiated onto many tracks so I would use rotary encoders rather than pots.

There will be no screens or meters. Overall I will need:

22 rotary encoders
1 fader
20 buttons

From what I understand, this exceeds the Teensy 3.6 number of possible connections but 74HCT451s could solve this issue?

I think it will only need to send CC since theee are no meters or leds needing to pull info from Pro Tools but I might be wrong.

I would like to know if this is something feasible for someone with no experience with Arduino or Teensy or if it can be done.

Thank you very much!

Andre

For the most part it depends on how much time and effort you are willing/able to invest in such a project. It is also very important to correctly understand the requirements, what you want the controller to do.
Do I understand correctly that there will be no feedback from Protools to the controller i.e. displays of current setting? This would imply that you always have to look at the computer monitor for the current setting but it certainly would make the controller much simpler.
A Teensy 3.6 is more than able to handle this kind of midi controller, that's not an issue. The question is what the capabilities are on the Protools side. I could help you with the Teensy part but I don't know anything about Protools midi control.