Power Supply For Modular LED Matrix

Status
Not open for further replies.

TrueBlue

Hi, I’m designing a modular led matrix pcb with tlc5940s chips which will be connected to a teensy 3.2 and a raspberry pi. To be honest, I don’t have a great understanding of how power works and I’m seeking advice on what type of power supply I should use to power both the LEDs and the raspberry pi.

The teensy will be powered over usb from the pi and the tlc5940 chips will be powered from the teensy vin pin. I’m planning on eventually scaling the project to over a 1000 LEDs, so I’d like to know what type of power supply I could use to power both the Pi and a 1000 LEDs (all at once with full brightness) and how I might calculate what power supply I should use should I decide to power more than a 1000. These are the LEDs I’m planning on using.

Last edited:
Well I am no expert but basically it's this:
This LED datasheet says 20mA current nominally. This times 1000 LEDs is 20.000mA or 20A. On 3.3V you would get P=U*I = 3.3 * 20 = 66 Watt.
These are not numbers to laugh at and can not be provided by a RasPi pin or Teensy pin or by USB(2).
So you would need an external power supply at least. This is not even considering peak currents.

Thanks for the response NotoYota!

So I’m currently working on a board with 32 LEDS. There will be 10 boards connected together, so 320 LEDs total. I’m planning on using the pi to send data to the teensy and since the pi is powered at 5 volts I’d like to power the LEDs at 5 volts as well. So based on the formula NotoYota provided, would 32 Amps be correct for powering the LEDs? 320 x 20 = 6.4A. 5 x 6.4 = 32A. If this is correct perhaps a 5v 35a power supply should be sufficient for the pi and LEDs?