count pulse problem with pulse resolution tennsy3.6

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello all i'm new in this field
if there is any unfit please tell me and i'll improve
Can someone help me do some quick test or prove the pulse resoultion of teensy 3.6
in my case i need to detect a pulse width 10 ns and it is an irregular pulse
Thanks for your comments.
godredrain

If it's about that 10ns pulse just triggering an interrupt, an external mono flop could help for signal conditioning. But if it's about precise measuring the duty cycle of pulses in the 10ns range, no Teensy will do that.

All just blind guessing around since the @godredrain didn't give enough details and precisions about what he wants to achieve and what he already tried.

@paul so there is no way to improve in this case?(ex.can i add some timer by myself?)
@theremingenieur sorry i didnt explain clearly. The picture is what the pulse i want to detect
now i'm using Oscilloscope to detect but i want to use some board to replace it so i survey to the teensy.
PMT count.png

If it‘s just about detecting if such a pulse has happened or not and for example triggering an interrupt or DMA transfer from that, or just incrementing a counter, if the Teensy has not to analyze the pulse in detail, and if you can be sure that the pulses do not happen more often than 1/100ns, a solution could most probably be found.

Its an interesting problem to count very high speed pulses, such as photon arrival at a photomultiplier tube. I have just been reading the MC10E137 chip spec (PLCC-28 device).

This is a very high speed (2 GHz) 8 bit ripple counter which might possibly be used to "front end" a Teensy as a 10 MHz counter. Each count bit is available as an output, so if the experiment had a "start and stop" time interval, you could enable/disable the count - then use Teensy digital inputs to inspect the "remainder" in the MC10E137, and add to the Teensy "more significant" counted bits.