Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 81 of 81 FirstFirst ... 31 71 79 80 81
Results 2,001 to 2,020 of 2020

Thread: Teensy 4.0 First Beta Test

  1. #2001
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,671
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank B View Post
    Thanks I've ordered 10pcs.. did not find any source in Germany, so they'll come from china in 1-2 month

    I guess I can connect the Display-LED-backlight and a small audio-AMP to the "out"-pin, too?
    Frank, doesn't digikey have a site over there that you can use? May be faster.

  2. #2002
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,425
    Faster yes.. but for 7x the price(10pcs incl shipping - 36), I'm happy to wait
    I'll add it to my boards, but I hope they work without, for a few weeks.

    It sits under the T4, on the left. (Still not sure about the SD - so i've omitted it, but added a connector with all unneeded pins) - That's ok for the 1st alpha. Sound .. similar..
    Last edited by Frank B; 03-17-2019 at 07:28 PM.

  3. #2003
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,425
    Has anyone tried to read/write the empty area of the SPI-Flash?
    Any hints... or sample code? I don't even know where to begin...

    I don't think I'llhave a problem with SD - but it will be not that easy for beginners to use the SD-Connection.. so, I'm looking for a easier solution to store some small files.
    @Paul, it would be really good if the T4 supported MTP... it could be used to write code to write/read at least smaller files to the T4.. my "teensy transfer" is not really a solution (too complicated to use, and not ported so far).
    I'm not looking for a "ready to use" solution - I'm willing to write all that code or help with it - but I need at least the basic minimum information how to start...
    As I understand it, the T4 accesses the flash automatically, and there is a "configuration" - so, all what to do is modify this area, or create a new one?
    Is there a "stub" or begun code to access the emulated eeprom?
    Last edited by Frank B; 03-17-2019 at 12:07 PM.

  4. #2004
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    2,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank B View Post
    Faster yes.. but for 7x the price(10pcs incl shipping - 36€), I'm happy to wait
    I'll add it to my boards, but I hope they work without, for a few weeks.

    It sits under the T4, on the left. (Still not sure about the SD - so i've omitted it, but added a connector with all unneeded pins) - That's ok for the 1st alpha. Sound .. similar..
    when in DEU I usually buy from Digikey. If required I add some Teensies or PJRC products to exceed 50 Euro to qualify for free shipping.
    It comes usually on the 3rd day after order.
    Last edited by Frank B; 03-17-2019 at 07:29 PM.

  5. #2005
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,187
    @Frank B (and @Paul) - Was not sure about posting pictures about the probable layout, although probably does not matter as the data is in the forum posts anyway...

    I have not yet stated to layout my own board to play with yet. I did start on a diptrace pattern for the T4. Looks like you are setup to use Pogo pins to connect the inner pins?
    So far I decided to setup to use the surface mount pins like we do for T3.x. So the holes line up with some of the outer pins. Although I am curious if I might be able to setup these pads with two holes, so I can choose later on using POGO pins or through hole. That way if I get a updated T4 beta board, I can plug it in without needing to solder it into the board...

    As for SD Card, I am wondering about how to maybe setup to run something like POGO pins to the six (or 8 if you want the 3.3v and GND). That way maybe can choose to optionally install a remote SD adapter and/or use the 6 pins for other purposes. Again not sure about using SD card coming out of Front, if I also wish to use Host USB connections.

    Too many distractions

  6. #2006
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,671
    ALL

    Just had something strange going on with ILI9341_t3 library with the T4. I tried to do a compile and keep getting errors like:
    Code:
    F:\arduino-1.8.8-t4\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\ILI9341_t3/ILI9341_t3.h:314:9: error: 'KINETISK_SPI0' was not declared in this scope
        sr = KINETISK_SPI0.SR;
    Same thing happens with Arduino 1.8.9. Has anybody else seen this or do I have something strange going on?

  7. #2007
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,187
    Quote Originally Posted by mjs513 View Post
    ALL

    Just had something strange going on with ILI9341_t3 library with the T4. I tried to do a compile and keep getting errors like:
    Code:
    F:\arduino-1.8.8-t4\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\ILI9341_t3/ILI9341_t3.h:314:9: error: 'KINETISK_SPI0' was not declared in this scope
        sr = KINETISK_SPI0.SR;
    Same thing happens with Arduino 1.8.9. Has anybody else seen this or do I have something strange going on?
    Again unclear on what to do with this library as the T4's SPI has completely different registers (so KINETISK_SPI0 does not exist. And the IMSRT SPI registers do not have the ability to encode the logical CS pins into the logical PUSHR stack.

    Note: That is not 100% correct. There is more details earlier in the thread. I have made a version of my ili9341_t3n library (T4_WIP branch), where I have done some stuff.

    That is the write queue can have data elements TDR and Control elements TCR, and you can choose one of the CS pins in the TCR, (and we only have one). So I experimented with using that for DC pin and use keep the queue running about as fast as I could...

    More details in the previous postings.

  8. #2008
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,425
    Kurt, quick question in between:
    You've been working with Flexspi:
    - Is it possible to realize QuadSPI with it?
    - I'm planning a board - should I consider certain pins for it (which?), or doesn't it matter?

    (the 8MB RAMs arrived)

  9. #2009
    Senior Member+
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,671
    Quote Originally Posted by KurtE View Post
    Again unclear on what to do with this library as the T4's SPI has completely different registers (so KINETISK_SPI0 does not exist. And the IMSRT SPI registers do not have the ability to encode the logical CS pins into the logical PUSHR stack.

    Note: That is not 100% correct. There is more details earlier in the thread. I have made a version of my ili9341_t3n library (T4_WIP branch), where I have done some stuff.

    That is the write queue can have data elements TDR and Control elements TCR, and you can choose one of the CS pins in the TCR, (and we only have one). So I experimented with using that for DC pin and use keep the queue running about as fast as I could...

    More details in the previous postings.
    I been trying to get the Adafruit ILI9341 lib working with the T4 again and its failing miserably. The first thing is that the adafruit 9341 lib is a very old version and has not been updated to the latest version which I had working previously. Just loaded the new version and it is no longer working with the display I have - the display did work on the T3.5 with ili9341_t3.

    So now back to debugging why it is no longer working for me with the T4. Hate these kind of problems.

  10. #2010
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    2,954
    the hardware has quadspi support (for master and slave modes)although i dont think the extra pins are routed

  11. #2011
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,187
    You can try playing around with the FlexSPI code up at: https://github.com/KurtE/FlexIO_t4
    Note: Each one takes two timers and two shifts... And with DMA, code is sort of tries to allocate two timers with different DMA channels, so only one FlexSPI per Flex IO controller...

  12. #2012
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7,811
    re: QSPI pins were - IIRC - noted as reserved/not routed for larger board to be populated with secondary device.

  13. #2013
    Senior Member+ Frank B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Germany NRW
    Posts
    5,425
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank B View Post
    Kurt, quick question in between:
    You've been working with Flexspi:
    - Is it possible to realize QuadSPI with it?
    - I'm planning a board - should I consider certain pins for it (which?), or doesn't it matter?

    (the 8MB RAMs arrived)
    Sorry, meant FlexIO
    Thank you, Kurt. Would it be restricted to special pins, or is every combination possible?

  14. #2014
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,187
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank B View Post
    Sorry, meant FlexIO
    Thank you, Kurt. Would it be restricted to special pins, or is every combination possible?
    The current Flexio-> flexSPI class is etup where MISO, MOSI, and SCK (and CS if specified) must be on the same Flex IO controller.
    So I believe on current Beta board:
    FlexIO1 has (2, 3, 4, 5, 33)
    FlexIO2 has (6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 32)

    When we go to 1062 board It also has a FlexIO3

    Will have to see what the final pin layout for that one is:
    But the early ones on Page 1 shows pins like 6,7,14-23, 26, 27

  15. #2015
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,187
    @Paul,

    Again wondering how hard it would be to get at least a version of USB Serial limping along enough to handle some simple Serial Monitor inputs and outputs...

    That is it would be nice to get it to at least the point that sketches that do things like:
    Read a simple string in work. Especially those that do something as simple as:
    Code:
        Serial.println("Hit any key to continue");
        while (Serial.read() == -1) ; 
        while (Serial.read() != -1);
    And similar things like: while (!Serial.available()) ;
    Work again.

    Again I know that there are a few of us that are probably willing to do some hacking, to get it limping along until you get a chance to rewrite the whole USB system. But hints and (or better) any sketches/outlines of code would be great!

    Thanks
    Kurt

  16. #2016
    Hi Frank, hi Paul,

    I now ported all emulators from the T3.6 to the T4, with the I2C keyboard support.

    https://github.com/Jean-MarcHarvengt/teensyMCUME
    Code can be compiled for both targets.

    I also fixed the switching between DMA and non DMA mode for the ILI9341, when the touch screen is used.
    I wanted to make a PCB this w-e where I could fit one of the 2 MCUs (it is pin compatible for what I use) but now my T4 does not answer anymore????
    I did not do anything special...

    The IDE (teensy loader) always detects the boot loader mode and no way to flash anything nor have the monitor running (the port detected is always the bootloader)
    LED goes red when pressing the button. Sometimes the teensy loader shows that something is flashed (not sure what) but the IDE does not detect the port.

    Any idea how I can recover the T4?

    Thanks,

    J-M

  17. #2017
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7,811
    Quote Originally Posted by Jean-Marc View Post
    Hi Frank, hi Paul,
    ...
    Any idea how I can recover the T4?

    Thanks,

    J-M
    Try the 15 second T4 Button press.

    With an eye on the RED bootloader LED - press the button. Start a timer and watch for 15 seconds from press then release the button ... IIRC the Red LED gives a change when the 15 second interval is recognized.

    That is a clean way to wipe the T4's MCU. I've done it at least a time or two when it seems it was needed.

  18. #2018
    It got resurrect.
    Thanks a lot!

  19. #2019
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    553
    Quote Originally Posted by mxxx View Post
    [ ... ] shouldn't the line below read 19 ( = AD_B1_00 / GPIO16 | UART2_CTS) rather than AD_B1_01 / 18?

    https://github.com/PaulStoffregen/co...erial3.cpp#L61
    ... just remembered this again. possible that the pinout on p.1 (and above code) is wrong on UART2 / CTS?

    on p. 472 of the IMXRT1050RM datasheet it says CTS = AD_B1_00, which would be pin 19, right? (whereas AD_B1_01 / 18 = RTS)

  20. #2020
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    4,187
    Quote Originally Posted by mxxx View Post
    ... just remembered this again. possible that the pinout on p.1 (and above code) is wrong on UART2 / CTS?

    on p. 472 of the IMXRT1050RM datasheet it says CTS = AD_B1_00, which would be pin 19, right? (whereas AD_B1_01 / 18 = RTS)
    I think you are probably correct. I think I took it directly from the table on Page 1 showing CTS when it was RTS...

    Could change it in HardwareSerial3.cpp to pin 19 info instead.

    @Paul - Does that seem correct? Want me to do a PR?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •