Teensyduino Install - Has it Worked?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boing707

Hi, and apologies for what is an extremely basic question I'm completely new to Teensy. I have installed Arduino 1.8.8 on Mac OS Mojave and run the Teensyduino installer v 1.45. Everything seemed to go OK but I'm concerned that I can't see any evidence of the Teensy software in Arduino. There is no mention of Teensy in the list shown by the Boards menu for example. Perhaps this is because I have no actual board plugged in (it's in the mail !) or pehaps something is wrong with the installation. Can anybody advise on how to verify correct installation of Teensyduino please?

Thanks
Steve

1) make sure you have only one copy of Arduino on your machine. your Teensyduino might have done its thing on another copy.
2) you should see Teensy boards in the IDE if the Teensyduino install was successful
3) you can compile a sketch for a Teensy board (even if you don't have the hardware), and a Teensy loader window should pop up. On the top menu bar, select Teensy > About and it will tell you the version of the teensy loader

in the old days on mac os, after installing the Arduino IDE, you need to run the IDE once before doing the Teensyduino install. Make sure no Arduino IDE is running when you do the Teensyduino install.

There is no mention of Teensy in the list shown by the Boards menu for example. Perhaps this is because I have no actual board plugged in

That's a sure sign the copy of Arduino IDE you're running does not have Teensyduino installed. Teensy is supposed to appear in the Tools > Boards menu, even when no hardware is connected to your Mac.

When you click Arduino > About, you should see this info where the Teensyduino version is shown.

screen.jpg